Where is home?

home edited

I get asked everyday on the dive boat where i am from, its a question that stuns me every time and i still haven’t quite figured out the right answer. I’m sure there’s many people also in my position, but do we feel lost? like we don’t have a home? For now, i believe home is where the heart is. As i have grown up in many cities and countries moving every few years, i never really planted my feet anywhere. My family is originally from England, but i do not regard myself English in anyway, the longest i’ve lived in one place was Perth, but i don’t have many connections there anymore, my parents live on the Gold Coast, but have moved to a completely new area since i left, and i’ve been by myself living between Cairns, Cyprus, England and Thailand for almost 2 years.

 DSC02988

As i have spent time and built relationships in many places, i have an amazing group of friends, but they are dispersed everywhere! From Perth, Melbourne, Sydney, Cairns to America and friends who are still on the road. When you meet people in different stages of your life, they influence you and teach you (mostly without you realising it), these relationships can often hang on for years, and some become long lost friends. This isn’t always a bad thing, people come and go, and change just as much as we do personally. The best friends i have always have a common bond, either travel, diving or rowing. Rowers are always fit people who love the healthy lifestyle and witnessing the most incredible sunrises almost every morning. Divers, are often travellers as well who share the same passion, enjoying the beautiful unique unexplored underwater world. And travellers are people who step out of their comfort zone, experiencing and learning about different cultures, history and opening their eyes to the world from first to third.

215503_10150938018596706_1332461216_n

My 21st Birthday

If you are happy where you are, surround by people who make you smile and appreciate life, enjoying your job as a passion, can we call this place home? I think so. As i said home is where the heart is, you can make a home anywhere, with the basics of love, food and shelter. Of course, i miss my family and friends who i don’t get to see very often, but when i do see these special people in my life, i truly appreciate it. Moving around and exploring the world in the 21st century is very easy as we can have access to internet and communication with ‘home’ in most countries almost instantly and flights are available and affordable so really ‘i’m only a flight away’.

The power of travel in incredible; it opens so many opportunities to grow, meet so many wonderful people from all walks of life, to build ‘homes’ in places you would probably never dream of living and to explore the unknown. Travel is not just about opening our eyes but also our hearts, seeing events, culture, how the less fortunate live and feeling strong emotions and thoughts we otherwise may not ever feel.

So in response to the question, where is home? I can only say here, and now. Living in the present, accepting distance for what it is but embracing the opportunity to grow and explore. I say i’m from Australia; as i’m proud to be Australian, i believe in the Aussie way of life, their mentality and opportunities within the country and its the longest i’ve lived in one country through a stage in my life that deeply influenced me (my teenage years). But for now i’m a nomad, and i love it!

My beautiful family

My beautiful family

3 thoughts on “Where is home?

Leave a comment