Inside a dive instructors dive bag!

Green Bay - Cyprus

Green Bay – Cyprus

My dive bag weighs a total of around 15 kgs; this does make it a little harder to travel with but as a dive professional there are a few extras i carry compared to your average recreational dive; but even when traveling it is always more comfortable to own your own gear so it is worth the extra haul! Here is an overview of whats in my dive bag. 

DSC03989

Wetsuit
I have a Probe 5mm long wetsuit and it is my baby. When ever i am cold i really don’t enjoy the dive as much as usual. It is also a personal fit so having your own wetsuit; although bulky, increases your comfort underwater, especially when your doing multiple dives.

As keeping warm is such a priority for me i also purchased a sharkskin. I absolutely love it and highly recommend one for any diver, surfer, wakeboarder, or any water sport! On the inside there is quick dry fleece, so even with the small amount of time between dives at least the inside is dry! It is also neutrally buoyant, so it doesn’t mean you need to carry more weighs.

Numerous amounts of bikini’s!
It goes without saying. Many bikinis is a necessity!

My Cressi Mask

My Cressi Mask

Mask & Snorkel
There’s nothing worse then using a hired mask and have to clear it every 5 minutes. A mask is very small and light so is quite practical to travel with. You can read more on choosing the correct fitting mash HERE. Another benefit of carrying your own mask and snorkel is if you want to just walk off the beach anywhere.

Fins (& boots)
I have Cressi Frog Plus fins, and they are fantastic! Its always good to have you own fins; it is very easy to get injury or cramp with the wrong fitting fins which can e very painful and make the dive unenjoyable!

DSC03986Dive computer
I have a Suunto D9 and it is my little baby. I have done over 800 dives on it and it has never let me down. If your only planning on travelling with a few items, this is definitely one to take as it is so small but makes all the difference to your personal dive.

BCD
BCD’s are bulky to travel with and often hiring a BCD is very easy. However for those who want to travel with their own gear, you can find travel specific BCD (very light and fold easily). I have a Mares Kaila and love it to bits! She’s a little on the heavy side but with the amount of diving i do, its well worth it! You can read more on choosing a BCD here.

Regulator
I love my Scubapro MK16 regulators. Owning your own regs make a dive even more comfortable however, they are quite delicate and expensive! When travelling, i usually carry my regs hand luggage or make sure they are well padded in between my wetsuit and BCD!

Mares Kalia & Scubapro MK16

Mares Kalia & Scubapro MK16

Compass
When i’m working underwater or even going on fun dives with mates, its always useful to have a compass. I have one on my Suunto D9, but it doesn’t work as well as your standard compass, so i travel with both!

Other Stuff

Torch
Always useful for an overcast day, exploring a cave system or relaxing on a night dive.

SMB/safety sausage
As a safety measure, every diver should carry an SMB. They are cheap and portable so there are no excuses not to have one. In Thailand i would definitely recommend diving with one, as the boat drivers are crazy and don’t care about divers being beneath them and will easily not see you and run you over.

Defog or baby shampoo
If you cheap and travelling spit will do, otherwise baby shampoo does the job of de-fogging just fine!

Knife
They say you should always carry a knife. I have one in my bag, but hardly ever take it underwater for a few reasons.. I’m often taking OW students or DSD’s so i do not trust having a big knife on myself just incase there is an emergency with a student. Currently i do not do any demanding dives where you would need to be untangled. Many disagree with me but if you ask many instructors why they carry a knife they usually say to protect themselves from sharks, use it as a tank banger or cut ropes.

Spare O-rings
The most essential smallest thing that can either save or if you don’t have, ruin a dive.

Dry Bag
For the non-waterproof gadgets, i-phone, camera, wallet.

Dive Bag
Essential for travel; you will need a sturdy bag if you going to take equipment overseas. I have a couple of dive bags; a Mares travel suitcase and a daily dive bag. The duffel bag i use to keep equipment on the boat and to do day trips as it is more compact and easy to carry.

Slates
A dive instructors teaching companion!

Leave a comment